Three Candidates Per Opening Compete in Upcoming Baton Rouge Special Elections

This month, The Bayou Progressive is featuring op-ed’s from the candidates running in the upcoming March 26th special election. To read their pieces in our Why I’m Running series, check it out here.

BATON ROUGE, La – Three times the charm. Or so it may seem for East Baton Rouge Parish’s upcoming March 26th special election, which features three races for state representative, district court judge, and the Metro Council and each race features three candidates on the ballot.

The race to fill the vacant judgeship on the 19th Nineteenth Judicial District Court – which is one of Louisiana’s 43 judicial districts and has primary jurisdiction over all civil and criminal matters in East Baton Rouge Parish – was caused by the unexpected retirement of Judge William Morvant last year. The candidates for district court are:

Jordan Faircloth, Republican

Jennifer Racca, Republican

Brad Myers, Republican







Three people have also qualified to finish out the remainder of former State Representative Ted James’ term in the state legislature, representing District 101. James, who previously chaired the powerful Criminal Justice Committee and was an influential voice in the Louisiana Legislative Black Caucus, was recently appointed by President Joe Biden to serve as regional administrator for the Small Business Administration’s South Central region. The candidates are for his replacement in the House are:

Dawn Chanet Collins, Democrat

Vanessa Caston LaFleur, Democrat

Terry Hebert, Independent







There is also a trio of candidates who have qualified to run to fill the District 5 Metro Council seat, a vacancy a result of the election of former Councilwoman Erika Green to Family Court in the 19th JDC late last year. In January, local businessman Darryl Hurst – a Democrat who had previously sought the seat in 2020 – was selected to serve on the Council in the interim by the Metro Council. The candidates for District 5’s Metro Council seat are:

Daniel Banguel, Democrat

Darryl Hurst, Democrat

Dadrius Lanus, Democrat






Election day is March 26. Early voting is March 12th through the 19th, except on Sundays. To get more election information, visit the Louisiana Secretary of State’s website here.

About Author /

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Start typing and press Enter to search